• general@panos.org.zm
  • +260-211-263258
  • Mon - Sat 8:00 - 18:00
Call for Entries for the USAID Open Spaces Zambia Media Awards for Female Journalists
  • By Panos
  • February 14, 2023
  • No Comments

Call for Entries for the USAID Open Spaces Zambia Media Awards for Female Journalists


Panos Institute Southern Africa is a non-profit, non-governmental and evidence-based communication for development organization that uses innovative communication approaches to amplify voices of the poor and marginalized to advance social change and foster social accountability. Panos supports informed and inclusive participation of marginalized people in governance and development processes by creating opportunities and platforms for informed and inclusive public dialogue.


With support from the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) and in partnership with FHI360 and Internews, Panos is currently implementing the USAID Open Spaces Zambia (OSZ) project aimed at strengthening the democratic foundations of freedom of speech and assembly; building independent and new media; and safeguarding a space for activists, human rights defenders (HRDs), and oppositional voices to protect democratic space in Zambia.


The project is motivated by the fact that women are increasingly entering the journalism landscape, which has traditionally been male dominated. At a time when press freedom is in jeopardy, it is important to salute their dedication to carrying out their responsibilities professionally, despite the numerous gender-related roadblocks they face. USAID OSZ will conduct a media awards event in May 2023 to reward the tenacity of women in media to positively contribute to media growth and the strengthening of democratic foundations in Zambia.


The purpose of the awards is to recognize and appreciate the women and organizations behind the ideas, strategic and creative thinking, and implementation that has an impact on the success of the media space. The media awards categories will reflect the rapidly changing media landscape and honour the women who are driving it forward while promoting the agenda that women in the media are equal to the task and should be given the same opportunities to excel as their male counterparts.



The USAID OSZ will support the production of quality, relevant content, strengthen the enabling environment for independent media, and advance social and online platforms that allow for free expression and access to information.


The USAID OSZ media awards are intended to:

  1. Highlight and celebrate the achievements of young women in the media.
  2. promote media excellence and professionalism among female journalists in the country.
  3. promote an inclusive media sector.
  4. encourage hard work among women journalists and supporting them to excel in media.
  5. motivate more young women to join the media profession.
  6. support quality and relevance of content in the media.


Interested participants can submit their entries under any of the following categories.

  1. Best media report on Decentralization.
  2. Best media report on Corruption.
  3. Best media report on Gender inclusion.
  4. Best media report on Climate change.
  5. Best media report on Smart cities.
  6. Best media report on Disability inclusion.
  7. Best media report on cyber security and Digital rights.
  8. Best media report on Children’s rights.
  9. Best media report on Media freedom and freedom of expression.
  10. Best media report on Access to Information (ATI bill).


Entrants may submit entries physically or online and may delegate a proxy to submit on their behalf, provided that such an entry has been approved by the person who authored the work being submitted. The entrant delegating a proxy shall present proof of such an instruction. The proxy shall be obliged to make a submission in the name of the person appointing them.

Each entrant is allowed to submit a maximum of only one entry across the awards.



  • Female journalists in the below categories:
  1. Private/Commercial Radio
  2. Community Radio
  3. Television
  4. Print Media
  5. Online Media
  6. Freelancers publishing with reputable and wide-reaching media outlets


  • The entries should have been published in the period from 3rd May 2022 to 31st January 2023.
  • A copy of the article/program being entered for the award should be accompanied by a cover note indicating name, sex, institution (if applicable), age, person with a disability (if applicable), phone number, category, and email address of the entrant. The note should also bear a brief explanation of how the article/program had a positive influence on the subject matter.
  • Entrants should present proof of publication of their submissions in form of press cuttings (photocopy) recorded radio or video program
  • The entrant’s supervisor should confirm the publication of an entry.
  • Entries should clearly indicate the category being entered for, and the media platform in or on which the story was published.
  • Entrants should provide a brief profile of themselves to be used before being presented with the award.
  • Audio and video submissions should be in a widely and readily accessible format such as .mp3, and mp4 among others.



                    • An independent body of adjudicators from the media industry and academia will judge the entries.
              • The adjudicators’ verdict in each category shall be final.


  • Facts and analysis in the story
  • Potential or/and actual impact of the story
  • Follow discussion, action, or improved service resulting from the story
  • Balance, objectivity, simplicity, coherence, and clarity.


Submission should be made Physically to:


The Executive Director

Panos Institute Southern Africa

No. 19 Commander Street, Off Alick Nkhata Road

Mass Media



Or Online to:




The deadline for entries is Friday 31st March 2023.